Nemo

Lost in mariner’s tune, in ancient waves,
engulfed by mania, displaced by thought;
this struggle to remain a-float, thus faught
the aged mariner against crushing waves
through tiring, dragging, endless days
upon eternal sea, draped in stars
like glitter upon black satin. Earth, mars,
venus, planetary host dancing their days
encircling fiery giant; spinning seas
as mariner floats, battling to remain
above surf with cracked, open mind, insane;
water scooped out, old man on knees:
so he sails, ‘nemo’, once nobody
in a sea of potential somebodies

Sonnet 18 of 100

This sonnet was inspired by Nightwish’s song of the same name, ‘Nemo.’ In this culture where everybody is a somebody it is easy to feel like nobodies, like we are missing. And, as beautifully phrased by the composer of Nightwish’s song ‘Nemo’, we’re not alone in thinking this. Still, it is an unpleasant place to be. If you find yourself in this darkest of places, please know you are not alone. You are not a nobody. You need not scoop that water out by yourself. The following is what the composer Tuomas Holopainen said when he was talking about his piece, ‘Nemo’:

Not the fish! I cannot believe how everyone seems to be convinced it’s that. Nemo, which is Latin for “nobody,” has nothing to do with the Disney film. It revolves around the feelings I have from time to time. I feel nameless and do not know who I am or where I will go. I only know my past and I long to be back there. The song is about being lost, not knowing where to go or what to do, yet desperate for everything in life. That’s not always me, but when I wrote Nemo, that’s the way I felt. Now I feel better. (Translated from the German)

Leave a Reply

